Teaching an old dog new tricks

I sometimes feel as though I have a fixed mind set, I suppose we all need this to some degree to get up each morning and go to work!

But reading Carol Dweck excerpt, Fixed Mindset v Growth Mindset: Which One Are You? I have a growth mindset.  Embracing challenges, well I did when  I was diagnosed with cancer and have come out so far a winner and stronger so perhaps this is a biggy??

Persistence, this is something I have instilled in my children and I believe strongly in growing up as an athlete, persistence to run and run and run to achieve. I think persistence and effort is vital when working with young children, persisting to help individuals and the effort which needs to be put in to achieve positive outcomes.

I take criticism and negative feedback as a way to improve how I do things, I am always telling the children I care for, “It is ok to make a mistake that is how we learn, we can’t just know everything, even I get things wrong”, they especially love it when they see me get something wrong and I actually admit it.

So I think that once I get into this ICT ‘stuff’, yes I will be able to implement this into my teaching and accept help and criticism along the way.

The following is an interesting read on Growth Mindset.

What does a Growth Mindset School look like?

http://www.mindsetworks.com/webnav/whatismindset.aspx

Administrators support teachers’ learning. They are responsive to honest feedback, rather than defensive. They seek to build their skills, and are willing to learn from their teachers.

Teachers collaborate with their colleagues and instructional leaders, rather than shut their classroom doors and fly solo. They strive to strengthen their own practice, rather than blame others. They truly believe that all students can learn and succeed—and show it.

Parents support their children’s learning both inside and outside the classroom. They partner with teachers, and respond to outreach. They worry less about advocating for their children to get good grades and focus on making sure kids are being challenged and put in the effort needed to grow.

Students are enthusiastic, hard-working, persistent learners. They take charge over their own success.

 

 

One thought on “Teaching an old dog new tricks

  1. Pingback: Can an old dog learn new tricks? | Ornella Whelan

Leave a Reply

